My date with #VijayAwards

When I was contacted by Star Vijay Television informing that I was selected as their Twitter Jockey,I could not believe my eyes. Yes, I was one among the team of 10 who has made it to the selection from numerous entries they had received. Since it was my first ever Award Program,my joy knew no bound.

Earlier,I saw their advert and had applied for it via Facebook and I had totally forgotten about it. Few days later,I was contacted by their Social Media Team that I made it. This is how my association with Vijay Television was stretched further. I had worked as a Twitter Jockey for them for their ever popular Airtel Super Singer Season 4 just in the beginning of the year.It was a different experience altogether. Now to attend their prestigious Award Function made me fly up above the sky.

I started building the tempo among my 11K Folllowers(by the way my Twitter handle is @AryanSarath) and was ably assisted by other Jockeys like Vignesh Babu,Prem Kumar,Santosh to name a few. We were called to Star Vijay Office twice to discuss about various aspects.

The big day arrived on 5th July.Each were given couple of passes and I had given it to my parents. Luckily my sister took part in one of the online contest and had won pass for herself.Thanks to CasaGrande who was one of the sponsors who gave away the pass to her!

I came to know about the real pulse when I had been to the venue. The venue was Nehru-SDAT Indoor Stadium which is fully airconditioned and is easily accessible since it is close to Central Railway Station and one can reach their by Auto,Car,Bus,Two Wheeler as well easily. The crowd was too much that cops were struggling to control them. They did a good job by keeping everything under control right from the beginning till the end and hats-off to them for that πŸ™‚ Have a look at one of the Pic I had clicked outside the venue πŸ™‚

stadium

We assembled at 4 and we could feel the pulse throughout the event. Then we were let in. I was lucky enough to get close to Red Carpet!!

Redcarpet

It was so amazing to be there.I could not believe what I was seeing.It was neatly done with good number of security guards and other amenities. As I walked closer,I could see “Twitter Mirror” – an initiative by Vijay Television.

twittermirror

This is where stars clicked their selfies with masks and other properties. It was first of its kind and was well received by the celebrities.

The list of celebrities were breath stopping. The entire Kollywood fraternity were there including the likes of legendary Kamal Hassan,Director Shankar,A R Rahman.

Other Stars who made it to the program included Latha Rajnikant,Aishwarya Dhanush,Surya,Vijay,Prabhu,Vikram Prabhu,Arjun,Atharvaa Murali,Siva Karthikeyan,Ganesh Venkatram,Director Bala,Khusbhu,Radhika,Rekha,Shruti Hassan,Raai Lakshmi,Priya Anand,Ramya Krishnan,Pooja,Pooja Kumar,Malavika,Hansika,Poorna,Yuvan Shankar Raja,Imman etc..It is an exhaustive list and I cannot include all the names here.Sorry about that!!!

Most of them came with their immediate family members neatly dressed impressing others and when ever they entered the Red Carpet, the whistles were mind blowing and it was really high when Shankar,A R Rahman,Vijay,Surya and Kamal entered the arena.

When I went to the Gallery,fans were shouting and enjoying each and every program to the core and the entire stadium was filled up with many spectators even standing without minding about the time as they were mesmerised…

Not to forget mentoning about the anchors – Gopinath and DD. They did a great job with DD who was just 4 days after her marriage had made it to the event and she was even dragged by Radhika for sometime till DD asked her not to pull her legs πŸ™‚

There were many awards and many performances throughout till it all got ended at 1:30AM. I would not write about that in detail over here as it is going to be aired in namma Vijay Television on 20th July.So keep an eye on it as it is one extravaganza you cannot afford to miss it.

When SRK entered,it was awesome as he shaked legs with kids before settling down and gave away some awards and also was involved in some lighter conversation with out stars.The touching point was when he mentioned that he would like to be present each and every year in the Vijay Awards as he liked us – people of Chennai πŸ™‚

DD took a selfie with all actors on the stage which had gone viral just like the famous Oscar Selfie.You can get a glimpse of it in the official page of Vijay Television in FB and Twitter

Finally,I was lucky enough to click a selfie near one of the giant screens πŸ™‚

giant

Leave a Reply

