Chennaiyil Tiruvaiyaaru with Murugappa Group

Margazhi – Month of delight for all the Carnatic Music Lovers. Chennai had always been a hub to bring the essence of Tiruvaiyaaru where you get to listen to some great music and adding to that the music lovers were also been treated with Dance and Music Instruments being performed/played by eminent artists from this field.

I was one of the short listed candidates by the Murugappa Group where I was given an opportunity on 24th and 25th December to witness couple of exciting events. I enjoyed a lot during those two days and never felt bad about missing from the start. I am herewith giving some of my experience for all the readers to read and enjoy…

It was on 24th December and I was asked to collect the passes from Murugappa Group Head Quarters – DARE House which is situated in Parry’s Corner. I had been there and was handed passes for the event the same day in the Noon. Since it was already 11:30AM by then and the show was suppose to begin at 1PM, I went straight to the venue – Kamarajar Arangam.

It was a Dance Program by Vidhisha.

photo 1

As you could see, I was given a VIP Pass 🙂

When I entered the hall, I was stunned by its decoration/set up. It was so beautiful and vibrant which one can feel as soon as you enter the hall.

photo 2

The hall started getting filled up with rasikas and Vidhisha arrived.

photo 3

When we learnt that Vidhisha travels 120kms everyday from Tiruvallur to Chennai to learn Dance, we all were amazed. When we further learnt about her master Mr.Narendra Kumar, we were even amazed because he has not only mastered Bharata Natyam but also arts like Silambattam,Kalari and Yoga. We were also told that he had performed a dance for Super Star Rajini in Kochadaiyaan.

Vidhisha started to dance and had danced non-stop for almost 1:45 minutes. We were amazed by her stamina and the sheer excellence that she had brought out in her dance. The best part to be in the dance program is – you get to enjoy both Vocal Singing and Dance. The expressions Vidhisha brought in her face was beyond words…

It was time for felicitations.

photo 4

photo 5

This program saw some VIP’s which included YG Mahendra’s Daughter – YG Madhuwanthi and also actor Nizhalgal Ravi and Producer K Rajan who came up to the stage to do the honours to the artists amidst much cheering from the audience.

I was all set to attend the next day Vocal Concert. This time, it was Ragini Sri and I am sure you all would have known her since she is a Super Singer Senior participant in Vijay TV who had enthralled us with her awesome voice.

Needless to say, this was a VIP pass too.

photo 1 (1)

I entered the hall at 8:30AM since the show was at 9AM. Prior to that I wished Ragini Sri in Twitter and surprisingly she replied back. I was so glad 🙂

photo 3

The show started and Ragini Sri started enthralling us with her amazing voice. All these days I had only listened to her Non-Carnatic songs and first time ever I had an opportunity to listen to her Carnatic Songs.

photo 2 (2)

She sang non stop for almost 1:30 hours before she called it wraps. She was ably assisted by artists who performed Mridangam,Kanjira and Veena. Then it was felicitations time.

photo 4 (1)

Finally, I tweeted about the artists who complemented her performance and guess what? Ragini Sri favorited and Retweeted them.

photo 5

To sum it up, it was a great experience for me and I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to Murugappa Group for giving me this awesome opportunity and looking forward to be associated with them in many such events in the coming days….

Leave a Reply

