Brands and Icons

Well, when you talk about ad, I wish to start talking about the celebrities who endorse a product. My first pick would be Amitabh Bachchan ji. The reason why I had picked up is simple – He alone would account to more ads than all the other actors/stars combined in the Indian ad industry. Though I might sound sarcastic, this is the fact because he is there in every product from Pin to Plane and seeing him over and over again in almost all the product categories makes me feel bored. It is not his mistake not that of the brand since it is the general public who is willing to see his face over and over again. I am sure by the time, I wrote this blog and published it, he would have made few more ads – because he is good in releasing ads in a much faster phase than his pics. Having said all this, there is this recent ad – for a Jewelry Showroom where he is slated to come down all the way to Chennai to inaugurate it along with his daughter in law and he will be flanked by other popular actors from the South Indian film industry.

What makes me feel surprised is the amount of money being spent by these companies. It is good for the industry as a whole as it creates lot of employment opportunities to all sort of people right from the creator to the director and so on and so forth. While I do not know about other brands, this jewelry brand had mentioned about spending Rs.200 crore per year for ads which is HUGE….

I would like to talk about my favorite – Sachin Tendulkar. He is still an icon though he has retired from Cricket. The reason why the brands he endorses commands a premium pricing is his selection. He is choosy about the brands and does not endorse all that comes through his way which makes him real special among others.

There are few who have brought lot of laurels to the country but since they are from other domains, they do not have larger exposure. What makes an ad click by the end of the day is how it is being shot and what ideas are being perceived. Some of them are unrealistic like Amitabh ji walking to a bank branch and spends time with the gatekeeper and helps him in opening an insurance online. In reality, this is not possible considering the fact, he is a busy start and he will not be visiting the branch since for customers like him, it would be doorstep banking or his banking is done by his assistants and managers. I am sure you would agree with me on this aspect.

I would like to conclude with this – an ad should be realistic even though it would be good to see the REAL rather than a REEL.

This Pepsi IPL, it’s not just about cricket. It’s time to crash with your own created ad! Make your own Pepsi ad & if it’s chosen, it could play on TV during Pepsi IPL! And hey, it doesn’t end here… Even if you’re chosen as a finalist, you stand a chance of winning a prize amount of Rs.1 lakh! So what are you waiting for guys?

I am joining in on all the Pepsi IPL action in my own style with the #CrashThePepsiIPL activity at BlogAdda

Leave a comment