An Indian Fauna Encyclopedia

“Capturing Wildlife Moments in India” contains 120 photographs of animals and birds of India, photographed from visits to over 30 parks,sanctuaries and other locations.

When I got this book for review, I was extremely happy for the simple fact that it was given only to a selected few and coming from the World Renowned Personality like Mr.Ashok Mahindra is not a joke.

What captured my interest?

Book Cover

It is this cover page which has captured my attention in the very first place. I have read about tigers as a kid and also about the famous Jim Corbett and his adventures in tackling them and even more recently, I was presented with a book written by Jim Corbett by my landlord when I was in Bengaluru.

This cover pic has taken me over completely because of the intricate details that was imbibed on it. I started reading the book and instead of saying this, I must say, I started getting enlightened as I finished going through each and every page.

As a kid and even as a adult, I had known only about generic information about the Fauna and to me, a duck is just a duck and so as a deer. When I read this book, I came to know there are many sub varieties in it and in fact India is one of the richest country when it comes to bio-diversity.

The author had taken great pain and showed tremendous patience in capturing the pics that were printed in this book which has made our life easier since if we ourselves would have wanted to witness it in person, only the GOD knows as to how many days or weeks or even months we would have forced to spend to witness these spectacular species.

I wanted to show you some of the samples of the pics that were used that was being captured with greater precision.

Image 1

Image 2

Image3

Image4

What makes this edition the most exciting one is where the pictures have been shot and where ever needed, the author has even mentioned about the ISO and other technical details related to capturing a Picture has been clearly outlined.

The beauty of the book lies in inclusion of IUCN details about the species whether it is falling under the category of Vulnerable,Endangered,Threatened etc., and also the Status of the animal as to whether it is revered as God or given the status of State Animal.

This book has also covered Flora to some extent.

I would conclude here saying this book is a treasure. If you get a chance to buy it, please do not think twice because this will surely empower you and it is a real nice gift for the kids especially and for all nature lovers.

This post is a part of the book review program of at Saevus Wildlife India in association with The Hemchand Mahindra Foundation for the book Capturing Wildlife Moments in India 

Leave a Reply

