The advice that changed my life

SachchiAdvice

Every one in their Life would have got an advice at one point of time or the other. The advice would have been many and varied from time to time and place to place. Not all would have gone into our mind and been implemented but I am sure there were certain advice which all of us would have sincerely implemented and had seen its effect/result as well.

I am no exception and when I was raised, the first and foremost advice I got from my parents – my Dad to be specific was to maintain the time. I used to wonder as to why he always leaves early for any program/function and had also seen few of my relatives making fun of him for being early. I did not realize the importance of keeping up with the time by then but on a later stage when an incident happened to me, I understood the real value of it.

I finished my graduation and was working in a leading software company as a temporary staff and one fine day I received a call saying that I have been shortlisted for an interview with World’s Leading Bank in its BPO sector. I could not believe it. The interview was scheduled couple of days later and I made all the preparations with great enthusiasm. The interview day came.

I remembered my father’s advice of being in the venue well before time and though the venue was hardly 10 kilometers from my place and the interview was scheduled at 10AM, I started from home at 7AM. My mom was surprised as to why I was leaving so early. I convinced her mentioning about the importance of being on time in the venue as they would consider all these aspects as well.

Guess what had happened?

There was a huge traffic jam as there was an accident some where on the main road. The usual time which would have taken me to reach the venue otherwise would have been 45 minutes or so but because of this, it took almost 2 hours for me to reach the venue.

Was I tensed?

Never!! The reason was simple. Yes. I left home well before on time and I still reached the venue with almost an hour to spare.

Do I need to say that I did well and got selected and was with that bank for 8 years thereafter…..

I am participating in the #SachchiAdvice Contest by MaxLife in Association with BlogAdda

Leave a Reply

