Laundry isn’t a Women’s Job

When I heard about Odd-Even lifestyle, I did not hesitate and jumped into it immediately. What is this all about?

We talk about gender equality day in and day out and we do see there is lot of improvement in various fields/sectors but we do miss out on one of the main sector – HOME!

Yes – HOME.

What is generally happening in many household?

It is the women who takes up the job of doing the household chores in most of the case which includes cleaning the house, washing the vessels and clothes. While we do have gadgets to do most of the work like Cleaner, Dish Washer and Washing Machine, we hardly do use them and even if we use it, we ask only the women at home to do the work.

I decided to put a full stop to it or at least give a try for a week to see how it went. We got Ariel Matic – Front and Top Load Washing Machine detergent powder. I decided to use it on Days 1,3 and 5 where as my better half has agreed to use it on Days 2,4 and 6.

So here we go. Having agreed to go first, I took up the Odd-Even Challenge.

IMG_7257

Even though I did not knew how the entire process worked, I got to know about it from my better-half with regards to using the washing machine. She was really glad that I agreed to do this as it would relieve her to some extent from her daily work load. It was really easy to operate it and on Day 5 when I finished it, it was raining and hence I used dryer option in the washing machine so that the clothes were dried to the maximum extent possible.

It was now the turn of my better half on Day 2.

IMG_7259

She did complete hers on Day 2, 4 and 6. The entire process got over in a week.

What were our learning points?

There are many but the most important being:

  1. Sharing the workload has made me understand the difficulty of household chores.
  2. My better half was pleased and more than that she was happy.
  3. When the workload is shared it brings more harmony in the household increasing the level of understanding between the couple.
  4. Share the workload and feel the difference 🙂

Do I need to say that I had decided to practice this regularly rather than doing it as one-off??

 

Take a look at this awesome video which justifies the points I have discussed above:

 

 

I am taking part in the #LaundryGoesOddEven Challenge by Ariel India at BlogAdda

Leave a Reply

