3rd Consecutive Year with Aircel Chennai Open

#ACO2017 or Aircel Chennai Open 2017 edition has kick started on 2nd Jan 2017 and goes on till 8th Jan 2017. I had been going to the India’s only ATP event since 2015.

In the year 2015, I got the tickets from one of the sponsor and had an opportunity to see Stan Wawrinka lifting the cup in the finals. I felt really glad to witness World No.3 Player playing and claiming the crown.

Year 2016 was even more better. Through another sponsor, I even got to play with Stan Wawrinka which is the “Dream come True” event for me.

This year, I got couple of VIP Passes. Thanks to The Hindu who were generous enough to give it to many tennis enthusiasts like me. I need to mention it here for the fact that my best friend had witnessed ACO for the first time in India. He – Senthil Raj Babu was in the US for the past 8 years and had seen Rafael Nadal playing in the US Open in the Arthur Ashe stadium but he sat somewhere real far from the court. This time, he was ecstatic because we sat real closer as we got the VIP tickets.

aco-tickets

To make it even more sweeter, we were also given VIP Lounge pass where in we had dinner once the match got over. The food was prepared by Hyatt Regency and we had savoured on few amazing dishes. They also had two live counters – Kothu Parota Station and Pasta Station. I did not click the pics inside as there were lot of crowd including match officials and I  did not want to disturb the privacy of the others.

selfie

The match was between top seed Marin Cilic and Kovalik. Cilic suffered a shock defeat in the hands of Kovalik who played some amazing tennis. The match lasted for close to 3 hours and it was a tough fought one as the match score at the end stood at 7-6, 5-7 and 7-5

tennis-shots

marin-cilic

It was yet again a experience of a lifetime and my heartfelt thanks to the sponsor The Hindu for making my evening awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

